Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Ethylene Vaporizer

acetic acid production

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 alirehman

alirehman

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 March 2016 - 03:07 AM

Huy there  I am a student of chemical engineering currently working on a project "Acetic Acid production by direct oxidation of ethylene". I am facing problem in designing vaporizer  as I highlighted my problem which is I only have ethylene out and water in flow rate. Also I am damn confused which sort of vaporizer should I design and how it should be...? or would there be any other equipment associated with this vaporizer ?

For Ethylene

melting point = -169.2 oC

boiling point = -103.7 oC

while water recycled is at 30 oC

My keen request to all of you is "Please help".

#2 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,955 posts

Posted 06 March 2016 - 03:38 AM

alirehman,

As far as I know in an ethylene vaporizer the methanol vapor is normally used as heating media while the spent methanol (in liquid) itself would be continuously vaporized in another exchanger by low pressure steam and methanol vapor returned to the vaporizer...

#3 alirehman

alirehman

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 06 March 2016 - 09:08 AM

+ Naseer Fallah there is no methanol in such a process only ethylene is out there as primary raw material which needs to be vaporized. As I already discussed that;

For Ethylene

melting point = -169.2 oC

boiling point = -103.7 oC

and furthermore reaction condiations in reactor are 160–210oC over a solid catalyst. That's why I am confused.