Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Positive Displacement Pump Discharge Pressure

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
33 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Julien123456789

Julien123456789

Gold Member

• Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 04 April 2016 - 03:58 AM

Dear all,

I am a freshman in refining processing.

I would like to know what is the discharge pressure of a positive displacement pump when there is no pipe at outlet ?

Your explanation will be strongly appriciated.

Thank you in advance.

#2 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,954 posts

Posted 04 April 2016 - 04:59 AM

I would like to know what is the discharge pressure of a positive displacement pump when there is no pipe at outlet ?

Julien,

Please avoid several posting the same thread...

When there is no pipe at PD pump, discharge pressure would be atmospheric pressure...

Actually, to avoid liquid free-flowing through a PD pump, there should be a greater pressure at the discharge than the pump suction...

#3 Julien123456789

Julien123456789

Gold Member

• Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 04 April 2016 - 06:34 AM

Thank you so much, Fallah.

I tried to delete my 2nd post but i dont know how to do it.

Have a nice day,

#4 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,954 posts

Posted 04 April 2016 - 06:51 AM

Thank you so much, Fallah.

I tried to delete my 2nd post but i dont know how to do it.

Have a nice day,

Thanks Julien,

It could be deleted by a hidden point at the left of the "MultiQuote" botton...

Edited by fallah, 04 April 2016 - 06:52 AM.

#5 Julien123456789

Julien123456789

Gold Member

• Members
  • 94 posts

Posted 04 April 2016 - 06:57 AM

Thank you Fallah,