Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Reciprocating Compressor Relief Valves

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 shinchan

shinchan

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 29 June 2003 - 04:01 AM

Hi! Good day to all of you!

I am a junior engineer currently working on a revamp project involving two reciprocating compressors. One of the compressors is motor driven while the other one is steam turbine driven. Both have PRV's located at their discharge. The motor driven one is usually operating while the other one is the spare. However, I have observed that the set pressure for the PRV for the steam turbine driven compressor is slightly lower than the set pressure for the motor driven one even though the design pressures for both compressors are the same. I would like to ask if anyone knows the possible reason for this?

Thanks.

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 29 June 2003 - 03:59 PM

shinchan:

First of all, I don't believe the reason for the difference in the PSV set pressures is due to the difference in type of driver. It probably is due to something else.

You haven't stated that the service is common to both, that both machines are identical (except for drivers), and that the over-pressure scenarios on the discharge port are identical to both. Consequently, I have to assume that the machines are servicing different process needs. The reason for the set pressure difference then becomes a possibility of the following:

1. Different gases; different service or different discharge conditions;