Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Pump Design - Positive Displacement

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 bob789

bob789

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 29 January 2011 - 09:51 AM

Hi,

I am a 4th chemical engineering student. I am haveing issues designing a suitable pump that will be able to handle an extremely fibrous substance, such as alginic acid. The slurry contains 80% fibre solid, 20% water and therefore will be extremely difficult to pump. However, I am wanting validate this reasoning through design. I have selected screw or gear pump as they can handle really low flowrates. I was wandering if someone could give me some guidance on how screw pumps operate, as they will be ideal as it won't affect the integrity of the substance being pumped. Can someone direct me towards where I could find design equations for screw or gear pumps?

I have identified this list below as being key specs on the pump, am I right? diameter, flowrate, head loss, back pressure , viscosity of fluid

Capacity of Screw Pump: Diameter of screw, Speed of screw, no. Of flights mounted on screw ,Angle of inclination ,motor speed ,
efficiency of gear pump: Fluid Density, Pressure rise ,Displacement Volume (Q) , Rotational speed (n) ,Driving torque (T), Efficiency

thanks in advance.

bob

Edited by bob789, 29 January 2011 - 09:52 AM.

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 29 January 2011 - 01:56 PM

Bob: