Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

- - - - -

Finned Tube Heat Exchangers - Thumb Rules

finned tube heat exchngers

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 lafondejs

lafondejs

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:14 AM

Dear All,

I am new to Heat exchanger designing, and i would like to know some basic thumb rules of designing of finned tube heat exchangers, like air/gas coolers, economizers.

For example,

I would like to know regarding,

1. Optimum no of tube rows per bundle & Optimum tube length range (Tube bundle sizing)
2. How to select fin density & type of fins (L-fins, Extruded fines etc.)
3. No of bundle per unit and arrangement of bundles & Units (Parallel or serial)
4. Bare length of ends of a finned tube.
5. Deciding Header depth & Header type
6. How to avoid tube side fluid maldistribution & bypass through the pass partitions.

Thanks.

#2 Steve Hall

Steve Hall

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 167 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:13 AM

My new book, Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers, Fifth Edition (Butterworth-Henemann, 2012) has several pages on air cooled heat exchangers. It includes thermal sizing and pressure drop calculations, as well as some rules of thumb which are attached here.

Attached Files

#3 breizh

breizh

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 6,351 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 06:38 AM

Consider this resource to support your query ( Chapter 4 ....)

http://www.wlv.com/p...ok/databook.pdf

Breizh

#4 srfish

srfish

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 408 posts

Posted 01 August 2012 - 11:31 AM