Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

The Expansion Factor Y For Saturated Steam

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 ecas

ecas

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 09 February 2017 - 12:50 PM

Hello everybody,

I'm an industrial engineer with several years of experience related with oil refineries, thermal and nuclear power plants. All these plants have some piping systems with saturated steam (dry or wet) flowing through them, as for example the Main Steam System and the Turbine Extraction Steam System.

I would like to discuss in the forum these two aspects:

1. Which must be the expansion factor Y to be used for saturated dry steam in the equation (1)?

W = 1891YD2[(P1 - P2)/ve1K]0.5       (1)

This equation relates the steam flow rate W (lb/h), the piping pressure drop (P1 - P2) (psi), the specific volume of the steam at the beginning of the piping ve1(ft3/lb), the internal piping diameter D (in) and the flow resistance coefficient of the piping K.

In the technical literature, for example the Crane Technical Paper No. 410 includes the graph of Y for steam and gases with k = 1.3. This value of k that is the ratio of the specific heat at constant pressure to the specific heat at constant volume, I assume that is only for reheated steam, because for example in the paper of G. S. Liao "Analysis of Power Plant Safety and Relief Valve Vent Stacks", Journal of Engineering for Power, October 1975, says that k = 1.3 for reheated steam and k = 1.13 for saturated steam.

2. When the saturated steam has wetness at the beginning of the piping, which must be the expansion factor Y?

#2 sgkim

sgkim

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 289 posts