Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Pressure Increase With Time

17 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 niki22

niki22

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 23 November 2022 - 11:43 PM

I am new to this field. how i can find pressure increase with time? for example..if at 0 second pressure is 20 barg with flo 100000kg/hr. then what will be the pressure at 5 sec?

#2 Pilesar

Pilesar

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,375 posts

Posted 24 November 2022 - 10:39 AM

Steady state calculations are simpler than dynamic calculations. You might try a series of steady state calculations as an approximation. The info in your post is too sparse to get an idea of what you are really needing.

#3 latexman

latexman

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 1,679 posts

Posted 24 November 2022 - 11:14 AM

Is this gas flow? If so, and as Pilesar indicated, at 5 seconds how much mass has accumulated in your system volume? Then apply PV = nRT. More details would have been useful, and we wouldn’t have to guess.

#4 niki22

niki22

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2022 - 02:56 PM

yeah it's gas flow. if we use PV=nRT how it will say after eacond how much pressure increase? i need to find out how much seconds we have to close the XV once control valve fails. so need to find step by step time from normal operating to PSV set point

#5 niki22

niki22

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 25 November 2022 - 03:16 PM

i dont know it is the right way or not but for first step i found mass from kg/hr by multiplying with 1sec. so if 156000 kg/hr flow mass i got 156000/3600 = 43 kg. now how to do it for next step 2sec. i will have to find pressure for this mass first but i dont know how to?