Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Effects Of Suction Pressure On Volumetric Flow Rate In Centrifugal Com

6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 AlexNguyen

AlexNguyen

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 31 May 2023 - 06:02 AM

Hello, 
I am a process engineer learning about the performance of centrifugal compressor.
I came across this paper (attached) that explains how suction pressure can affect compressor performance.
On Page 3, under the Heading "Compressor Inlet Flow" the paper says (emphasis mine): "Conversely, increasing compressor suction pressure will significantly increase gas density and reduce the gas volume. The lower the suction pressure the larger the effect of pressure changes on compressor capacity. For example, increasing pressure from 18.7 psia to 20.7 psia decreases the inlet gas flow rate by 10.6% for the same mass flow rate."
Then, at the end of Page 3, under the Heading "Compressor Head," the paper says (emphasis mine): "Either increasing suction or

decreasing discharge pressure can be used to reduce polytropic by 1500-feet and increase the compressor inlet flow capacity by 6%."
I can't understand the seemingly contradictory claim in the same paper. I looked for other sources, but I encounter the same conflict as well. Some paper explains that increasing suction pressure increases the gas density and lowers its volumetric flow. This makes sense, but on the flip side, isn't it true that low suction pressure also lowers volumetric flow? 
You can call me confused, and I admit that I am. Please teach me how a centrifugal compressor performs, preferably step by step from when the suction pressure is low, to when it reaches normal range, to when it reaches a high range.