Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Residual Chlorine Level For Interminent Shock Dosing Of Seawater

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 jdh

jdh

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 March 2008 - 11:20 PM

Hello there. I'm a year 3 ChE student, studying at the National University of Singapore. I'm currently on industrial attachment with a petrochemical company's refinery and am working on a study for a Electrochlorinator used to generate hypochlorite from seawater to disinfect the water used in the cooling network. The chlorinator is usually on continous dosing with equivalent chlorine concentarion at 2ppm and interminent shock dosing every 8 hours. May need to redesign the unit for increased capacity.

Can i check if anyone knows what is the usual free chlorine residual for interminent shocking and for how long a period of time? I know the free chlorine residual for continous dosing is 0.5ppm, but i have answers ranging from 1ppm to 3 ppm for shock which will make a lot of difference in capacity.

Also, does anyone knows the current chlorine demand of seawater around Singapore and its associated islands? The basis for the original design was 1.5ppm i believe, but that was 25 years ago and i'm not sure if it changes. Pls advise

Or any reference to a source which i can check will do as well.

Thanks in advance!

#2 S.Chittibabu

S.Chittibabu

Veteran Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 46 posts

Posted 10 April 2008 - 08:29 AM

Mr JDH,