Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

New To Chem E !

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Benzoid

Benzoid

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 July 2008 - 10:27 AM

Hello everyone !

Im pretty new to chemical engineering, in fact I have not even began my undergraduate course yet. It seems a pretty complex yet interesting course.

Are there any books out there you guys would recommend which would brush up my knowledge a little ? My knowledge of chemical engineering at the moment is limited to college level physics and chemistry. Even those I need to brush up.

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,782 posts

Posted 20 July 2008 - 02:42 PM

Benzoid:

I don't know if by "undergraduate course", you are referring to the main Chemical Engineering courses beyond the normal preparatory and complimentary courses like General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Physics, Math, and others. I also don't know how they teach the ChE curriculum in Singapore, but I would expect it is like most other places: you don't get into the "hard core" Chemical Engineering courses (within the School of Chemical Engineering) until after your first year of university. The reason I mention this is because there is little that prepares you for the material that is going to be thrown at you in the School of Chemical Engineering, except the basics that you are expected to assimilate your first year: the basic principles of chemical equilibrium, thermodynamics and chemical reactions, the properties of enthalpy and entropy, differential calculus, etc., etc.