Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Crude Oil Dewatering Technologies

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 herrani

herrani

Veteran Member

• Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 24 September 2008 - 10:56 PM

Hi everybody. I am new at this, so I hope I am posting this properly.

I am trying to separate a liquid stream, with a total flowrate of 60 000 bpd, containg crude oil and water. The water cut changes between 0 and 15% all the time.

Does any of you have any references for which kind of technology I could use? I am thinking in the lines of a gravity settler or a coalescer, but never designed any of those either.

Any help will be much appreciated!

#2 Andree

Andree

Gold Member

• Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 25 September 2008 - 04:37 AM

open settler are good, cheap and easy option of removal water at high concentration of water... efficiency however will not be high, especially if water is emulsified (dispersed into fine droplets)... in such situation electrostatic coalescer are quite effective (see attached articles)... classical coalescer (one or two-stage) will not be very effective as crude oil is usually very viscous, the same limits use of hydrocyclones

Attached Files

#3 JoeWong

JoeWong

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 1,223 posts

Posted 25 September 2008 - 06:32 AM

What is the water spec at the crude oil outlet ? 3000 ppmw water-in-crude is acceptable ? It is a bulk separation ?

#4 djack77494

djack77494

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 1,282 posts

Posted 25 September 2008 - 02:57 PM