Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

How Can I Size Vertical Water Seal Drum For A Flare Stack?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Roland2009

Roland2009

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:24 PM

Hi everybody!!!

This is my first time in this forum. I need some help about water seal drum calculation sizing procedure, or where can i get that info?. I´ve already have diameter of flare stack, so I have pressure, temperature, flow rate, composition, but i dont know how to SIZE a water seal drum, which it will be located at flare stack base.

Please please please.

Thank you very much.

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 30 December 2008 - 12:38 PM

Roland:

You can probably find an immediate answer to your problem in API 521, I believe.

If you are a student, you probably don't have access to API 521 and, in that case, I would employ the Brown-Souders relationship for vapor-liquid separator design in order to eliminate entrainment of water particles.

You can find a lot of threads and explanations on the Brown-Souders relationship in our Forums by using the SEARCH function. In effect, what the water seal serves to do is to prevent a back-flow or a propagation of a possible flame in the reverse direction by presenting a water barrier that the flowing flare gas has to overcome. In going through the water barrier, the gas tends to carry water particles and therefore must have a vapor disengagement space and size adequate to do so. The Brown-Souders relationship was developed for that very purpose.

#3 astro

astro

Gold Member

• Members
  • 89 posts