Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Nitrogen Purging.

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 muzziman

muzziman

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 October 2009 - 11:50 PM

Hi, I am working on a plant design project at my university. I am supposed to design a nitrogen purge system. I haven't been able to find much literature on it. Are their any useful resources that I may be able to use?

The nitrogen purge system is for a de-propanizer system (distillation facility). The things I am unsure about are:
- whether to use compressed N2 gas or liquefied N2. The plant site I am currently studying does have enough space to have a compressed N2 gas storage vessel but it would add to the total capital cost. While buying liquefied N2 (cryogenic) is relatively expensive. How is it generally done in the industry?

- the setup i.e. what would be a suitable way to distribute it in the system? i.e. having a single pipeline connecting it to the main feed line or having multiple N2 feed lines at various locations in the system
- suitable pressure to feed N2 gas at into the system other info will also be helpful. According to an author, a suitable pressure to carry out the purging is approx. 70 psig.

- what precautions can be undertaken to avoid reverse flow of N2?
Positive inputs would be appreciated.

#2 Qalander (Chem)

Qalander (Chem)

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 829 posts

Posted 30 October 2009 - 03:32 AM

Dear muzziman Hello/Good Afternoon,
I have witnessed at our previous(employers) Petroleum refinery;was

Nitrigen bottles(large sized bullets) for temporary storage at site.