Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Design A Packed Column Using Aspen Plus

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Dragos

Dragos

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 04 March 2010 - 03:20 PM

Hello,

I am a student pursuing a Master's Degree in Env. Eng. and I have chosen for my final thesis SO2 reduction from a copper smelter using a packed tower. I want to do this design in Aspen Plus. I have chosen a mixture of air and SO2 (0.98, respectively 0.02 standard vol. fraction) and water/ammonia (0.8/0.2 mass-fraction) as feed streams entering a RadFrac column (see attachment). The problem is that I don't see the products of reaction in the liquid-out stream, despite defining the reaction. I am novice in Aspen Plus so please give me some advice. What do I do wrong?
Is there anything I need to add to the reactions? Products of reaction? Other flowsheet or column type? Why do I get so much ammonia in the gas stream leaving the absorber? Why don't I see the ammonium sulfite in the liquid-out stream?
Please any help is highly appreciated!

Attached Files

#2 Dazzler

Dazzler

Gold Member

• Members
  • 140 posts

Posted 05 March 2010 - 06:28 AM

Hello Dragos

I'm at home so cannot open your Aspen+. But these things come to mind from your question.