Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Water Ethanol Distillation Column

distillation separation column water ethanol

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 EdoRm

EdoRm

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 07 March 2014 - 06:58 AM

Hi all,

I'm studying an ethanol production plant and I'm stuck in the distillation section. In the attached file we clearly see 2 distillation columns. In the explanation there is written that in the first column (the one on the left) we have the distillate (principally light products, some ethanol, aldehydes, acetic acid...), the first side stream (starting from the top) which contains most of the ethanol and water and the second side stream which should contain principally water and traces of ethanol (0,03% volume base).

Now, is it possible to have such a column? There is no bottom stream!

In fact, when I try to model this column in ASPEN it isn't possible to have a column without a bottom stream (i.e an outlet stream on the last plate).

Thank for your help.

Attached Files

#2 PingPong

PingPong

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 07 March 2014 - 12:37 PM

Indeed, a column with a bottoms section but no bottoms product is nonsens.

That drawing is not readable. Where did you get that?

#3 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 07 March 2014 - 01:36 PM

PingPong is correct.  The flow diagram furnished is not readable (or understandable) in any language.