Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Troubleshooting Existing System

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 TCA Consulting

TCA Consulting

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 20 September 2006 - 08:15 PM

Greetings,

I am a mechanical engineer working on troubleshooting an existing tank blanketing system. This is my first exposure to a tank blanketing system, so I am far from an expert. I have done some research into blanketing systems and probably know just enough to get into trouble at this point! In addition to various valve manufacturer guidelines, I have read Mr. Ostand's article, "Tank Blanketing: A Complete Guide..."

The system consists of 3 crude oil tanks blanketed with natural gas. Either Tank A is used (primary - 13,000 bbl capacity) or Tanks B and C are used if Tank A is out of service (3,000 bbl each). There are a pair of Shand and Jurs model 94261 valves used to pad and depad all three tanks. The valves are located at ground level. The connection points for the gas and sensing lines at the top of Tank A are approximately 35 feet above the valves. Tanks B and C are shorter, about 25 feet tall, but I do not know their location/elevation relative to Tank A. (Site visit scheduled for Sept 21).