Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Detailed Design On Heat Exchanger In A New Cyclohexane Plant

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Gin

Gin

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 08 March 2008 - 09:41 PM

Hello,

I am a final year student in the university of Nottingham. I've recently stumbled upon this site and saw the great information and help that it provided. I believe I was reading a thread on the kettle reboiler design before I found out great answers from mr. montemayor here.

Currently, I am designing a heat exchanger with the following specification:
Cold stream:
main component (benzene, hydrogen, cyclohexane (lower))
vapor phase: 0.9831 to 1
supply temp: 57.51 C
target temp: 115 C
Pressure: 4000 kPa
Pressure drop allowance: 50 kPa
Mass flow: 4.85 x 10^4 kg/h
Molar entropy: 99.84 to 106.7 kJ/kgmole C
Molecular W. :6.35
Mass density: 9.276 to 7.693 kg/m3
Mass heat capacity: 5.223 to 5.295 kJ/kg C
Cp/Cv: 1.348 to 1.346
Cv (semi-ideal): 3.914 to 3.986 kJ/kg C
Viscosity: 1.128 x 10^-2 cP
Kinematic viscosity: 1.466 cSt
Thermal conductivity: 0.1631 W/m K

Hot stream:
main component (benzene, hydrogen, cyclohexane (higher))
vapor phase: 1
supply temp: 184.2 C
target temp: 116.9 C
Pressure: 3250 kPa
Pressure drop allowance: 50 kPa
Mass flow: 6.238 x 10^4 kg/h
Molar entropy: 110.2 to 104.1 kJ/kgmole C
Molecular W. :8.916
Mass density: 7.565 to 8.753 kg/m3
Mass heat capacity: 4.461 to 4.225 kJ/kg C
Cp/Cv: 1.276 to 1.302
Cv (semi-ideal): 3.529 to 3.246 kJ/kg C
Viscosity: 1.31 x 10^-2 cP
Kinematic viscosity: 1.6225 cSt
Thermal conductivity: 0.1689 W/m K

(continued)

#2 Gin

Gin

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 6 posts