Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Need A Little Help In Vacuum Column Design

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 raza0kid

raza0kid

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 29 August 2011 - 04:21 AM

Hello,

I am a chemical engineering student working on my final year project which is the "production of different grades of lube base oil through the vacuum distillation of atmospheric residue". The products coming out of my column are GAS OIL , SPINDLE OIL, SAE-20 & SAE-40 whereas the vacuum residue leaves the bottom.

I am using a tray column and after having literature survey I fixed the following parameters for my column:
  • Flash zone pressure = 95 mm Hg
  • Flash zone temperature = 750 F
  • top pressure = 50 mm Hg
  • Number of trays = 20
    • Spindle oil draw tray = 4th tray
    • SAE 20 draw tray = 8th tray
    • SAE 40 draw tray = 12th tray (trays are numbered from top to bottom)
  • Pressure drop per tray = 3 mm Hg
I have calculated the side drawl temperatures for the column. After applying heat balance I came across with a certain amount of heat that I must extract through hot or circulating refluxes in order for the column to be thermally balanced.

Can anyone suggest me a scheme for extracting the desired amount of heat from my column through top reflux and pumparounds?

Attached are the temperature/pressure profiles and other relevant information.

I will be very thankful for your kind help.

Raza.

Attached Files

#2 Zauberberg

Zauberberg

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 2,727 posts

Posted 29 August 2011 - 04:53 AM