Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Outlet Of Condensate Pot

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 gimenz

gimenz

• Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 10 June 2013 - 01:33 AM

Good day.

Please excuse my ignorance but I would like to seek for advise/opinion.

We  have this exchanger that uses HP steam and the condensate is received in the steam condensate pot.

In the model review, licensor commented that the elevation of the exchanger maybe decreased. Consequently, we have changed the configuration and attached the condensate from exchanger to the outlet piping of condensate pot. (below drawing of attached file).

i am not experienced, but i find the configuration is new to me. The way i see it, it may not cause problems because there is an equalizing line on the overhead of the condensate pot.

I really appreciate your views on this matter about this new scheme.

Thank you so much.

Attached Files

Edited by gimenz, 10 June 2013 - 01:42 AM.

#2 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,955 posts

Posted 10 June 2013 - 03:06 AM

gimenz,

The problem might be raised due to lack of adequate height of the pot...

The licensor comment in model review regarding the vertical situation of the exchanger respect to the pot should has been submitted in relevant PID finalization, because normally the top flange of the pot should be installed above the top of the exchanger's tube bundle in the amount of, let say, 300-400 mm and it could be easily reflected on the PID then to be followed by piping in 3D Model preparation.