Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Extractive Or Azeotropic Distillation?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Guest_Nicholas Soong_*

Guest_Nicholas Soong_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 24 February 2006 - 10:03 PM

Dear All,

I am a Chemical Engineering undergraduate student from the National University of Singapore.
I would like to consult you about some questions in separations.
If I want to separate Acrylonitrile from Acetonitrile using water as the solvent or entrainer,
which distillation method should I use?
Acrylonitrile and Acetonitrile have close boiling points. However, they do not form azeotropes with one another. It will be very difficult to separate these two components from one another without the assistance of another chemical.
Therefore, I have decided to add water to increase the volatility of acrylonitrile with respect to acetonitrile. However, water will form azeotrope with acrylonitrile and acetonitrile. In the article that you wrote, if I use water as a solvent, this does not seem to qualify as extractive distillation. However, the professors in my university have insisted to call it extractive distillation and I m very sure that most students working on this project do not even know why! Can you please share abit of your insight with me pertaining to this matter?
I would be very grateful to you.

Thanks alot.
Yours sincerely
Nicholas

#2 Ankur Shah

Ankur Shah

Gold Member

• Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 25 February 2006 - 01:26 AM

hey!