Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Cold From Heat

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 N.B.E.

N.B.E.

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 30 April 2008 - 07:40 AM

Hello everyone,,,

I'm a mechanical student and am trying to simulate an absorption system (Ammonia cycle).
We all know that heat absorption cycles are heat actuated; the heat source in my project is the engine block and its surroundings in a normal car.

It’s too costly to build it to see if it works. So I was wondering can I simulate this project in hysys knowing that am not using the ammonia as the absorbent, instead am using lithium bromide because it has a cooling limit of 5°C.

The cycle can be treated as if its and ammonia but can I modify fluids flowing like the refrigerant.

All I know is to use sour Pr instead of regular Peng Robinhson equation of state.
For streams I should use NBS or ASME.

If it’s possible which software package is best for me?
Can any body help?

I hope this project works because if we can eliminate parasitic load on engine cause by compressors, then less fuel will be needed since there is a significant load eliminated thus it will reduce emission gasses.
Another advantage is available power.
The system is economical for countries with high gas prices. smile.gif

#2 Zauberberg

Zauberberg

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 2,727 posts

Posted 01 May 2008 - 05:32 AM

In my opinion, using Sour PR or any other EOS is not likely to give you acceptable results. The system you have is highly non-ideal and contains an electrolyte - aqueous solution of lithium bromide. I would rather choose OLI package if available or, perhaps, NRTL.