Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Deaerator And Condensate Stripper

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

• guestGuests
  • 0 posts

Posted 22 December 2008 - 06:17 PM

I am a student in last year of college, and i am doing a project about hydrogen production from natural gas reforming, with production of steam at 45 kg/cm2_g.
I need information about how to size and design a deaerator, and i also need information about designing a condensate stripper that makes a first separation of water recovered from the process passing saturated steam in counterflow.
I hope that my english has been clear, and thanks in advance for any info you can provide.

#2 smalawi

smalawi

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 138 posts

Posted 27 December 2008 - 08:09 PM

Hi,

As for the deaerator its a simple vessel with two parts. the first is to strip the O2 from the boiler water and this is typically modeled as a flash vessel in a simulater, you have the boiler water O2 content and you strip it with stream up to your new O2 limit.

The mechanical design is more like a column with tray sections or packing. You can use say 1 - 1.5 meters of packing (CMR) and dia of the packing section is 70 % flood. In Hysys - Pro II you can use one stage column and do tray rating for quick estimate.

the second part of the deaerator is another vessel, horizontal or vertical. This is a surge vessel for the pump, typically sized for say 5 min Nmormal velvel to Low level / high level surge capacity for the high pressure pump. You might design for higher surge capacity if the supply boiler water fluctuates.