Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Psv Sizing

k factor

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
42 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 vnpetroleum

vnpetroleum

Veteran Member

• Members
  • 42 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 03:20 AM

Dear All,

I am very new in sizing PSVs. I have a question relating to k factor. k is calcualted
- for idea gas: k = Cp/(Cp-R)
- for real gas: k = Cp/Cv
As stated in API- k for ideal gas is used to PSV sizing. However, some engineering companies are using k for real gas (which is calculated from HYSYS).

Please help to clarify which one can be used exactly for PSV sizing
Thanks - vnpetroleum

Edited by vnpetroleum, 14 October 2011 - 03:23 AM.

#2 ankur2061

ankur2061

Gold Member

• Forum Moderator
  • 2,484 posts

Posted 14 October 2011 - 04:07 AM

vnpetroleum,

Specific heat at constant volume (Cv) values for most gases is not directly available from thermodyanamic property tables found in books and literature. What is available, is the specific heat at Constant pressure (Cp). k values based on the ideal gas equation are:

k = Cp / (Cp - (R/MW))

where:

Cp = heat capacity at constant pressure, kJ/kg-K

R = universal gas constant, 8.314 (kJ / kmol-K)

MW = molecular weight, kg / kmol

'k' values based on ideal gas generally give lower values then 'k' values for real gases. When using it in sizing equations as per API 520 for relief valves for gas service a lower 'k' value provides a higher relief rate and relief area compared to a higher 'k' value.