Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Design Of Water Gas Shift Converter

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
22 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Guest_ChE801_*

Guest_ChE801_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 03 December 2005 - 08:30 AM

hi
I am a student of final year chemical engg .. I have my final year project about the design of WATER GAS SHIFT REACTOR (CO + H2 = CO2 + H2) and I am using iron oxide as catalyst.. Since its a fixed bed catalytic reactor so I have to use the PLUG FLOW EQUATION to solve for the volume of the catalyst ..
Now i want to know what things should I focus on for a good desiging of the reactor .. since it is a reversible reaction should i work out its equilibrium conversion or use about 80-90% as given in literature...
please guide me how should I design this reactor ... I want to design it well .. what factors are important in the design of rector ...
please reply

#2 Guest_ChE801_*

Guest_ChE801_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 03 December 2005 - 08:41 AM

I forgot to enter the data given to me ... the composition of gas is
CO 55%
CO2 10%
H2 33%
rest is N2 , H2S
the gas pressure is 500 psi, temperature is raised by heat exchange with steam from 30F to 650F (reaction temp for this catalyst) .. I also have a question that steam to be used in the reaction should also be at 500 psi?
also what are basic difference between fixed bed , moving bed and fluidized bed reactors
please help me so that I can be able to design it well

#3 Ankur Shah

Ankur Shah

Gold Member

• Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 23 December 2005 - 04:12 AM

hey! you have a lot of questions!!!

comments: