Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Flow Sheet For Milk Powder Production?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 phrase

phrase

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 December 2003 - 01:21 PM

Hi!

This is my first post... I was searching in the internet for a flow sheet to milk powder production plant, and I found this forum...

I'm a portuguese student. 2nd year.

I've been requested for this flowsheet, i didn't find it anywhere!

Can anyone help me? Thanks!

#2 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 22 December 2003 - 11:34 AM

You could just try looking into what equipment is required for milk production, and then draw your own flowsheet.

If you're producing it from raw milk, then there'll be raw milk storage tanks/skimming tanks (where you skim off the dairy fat that naturally separates out and sell some at a premium, keep some for blending. Somewhere there'll be blending tanks to blend the correct amount of fat back into some different milk feeds (skimmed, semi-skimmed, full-fat), probably stirred to form some sort of pre-emulsion.

There will be some sort of homogenisers for forming the final emulsion (I believe pressure-type homogenisers are used, such as the Gaulin homogenisers made by APV).

Importantly, there will be heat-treatment steps in there - remember that milk can be pasteurised, sterilised, or UHT.