Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

A Problem In Designing A Heat Exchanger

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 jull

jull

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 25 March 2008 - 07:20 AM

Hello!

I am a third year student in mechanical engineering at local university in Malaysia.I am having a problem regarding the chapter in GAS POWER CYCLE and Heat Exchanger process. I've been trying to figure out and find the suitable solution for our design project in thermodynamic based on these two topics. The question is :

THE EXHAUST gas from a 10,000kW diesel is to be used to heat water at 700kPa from 80°C to 120°C. The exhaust gases are available at 300°C. Determine the flow rate of water and design the heat exchanger to accomplish the output.

What statement should I use and what critical assumption that I need to mention?

Thanks in advance!

JULL

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 25 March 2008 - 07:31 AM

Jull:

I don't understand your question.

There is NO STATEMENT to make and no critical assumptions to take. As I understand it, you have been assigned to resolve a typical engineering problem. You have been obviously given all the Basic Data required or you have been told how to acquire the necessary Basic Data to resolve the problem.