Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Estimating Packed Tower Diameter/height

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 zunisim

zunisim

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 July 2008 - 11:36 AM

Hello all,

I'm a senior student for Chem E, at the Technion, Israel.
I need to design a packed tower (by hand and by Unisin)
How do i estimate the column diameter/height?
I found the theoretical number of trays the volumetric flow rate.
In order to proceed i need the column diameter so i can estimate the gas velocity (needed for the HETP etc.).
I tried to use the diameter calculated by Unisim for a sieve/valve tray column but then i noticed that the simulation gives me a different diamter for a packed column so that made me believe that there must be a way to calculate the diameter without estimating the tray column first.

thanks

Gil Taieb
zunisim@gmail.com

#2 John Kervin

John Kervin

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 12 July 2008 - 01:08 PM

Hello.I'm a senior student at University of the Philippines at Los Banos.Im taking Unit Operations I course this semester. Hope that my knowledge on packed towers will enlighten you.

Caution:

I'm not well versed in estimating the diameter of the packed tower but as far as i remember from my class last week. Follow this steps:

1.Find our Bible. (Perry's 7th ed) Locate Equation 14-150 .
2. Compute for the F LG
3. Also find the value of the Capacitor factor ( Cs )
4.Find the actual CS. (use as the efficiency of the capacitor)
5.Find the Superficial gas velocity Ut from Eq. 14-150
6. Compute for the area.
from here on you can find the diameter of the packed column.